What are Asuras and Are Danavas Asuras?


What are Asuras?

In the Vedic age, the Aryans considered Indra as the king of Devas. But the Vedas depict Varuna also as equal in power to Indra. A group of Aryans under Zaratustra became rebellious and started worshiping Varuna as the supreme power. They created their own four Vedas and a script called Kharoshti which was written from right to left. In their yajnas, Varuna was given offerings as the chief of Devas. This group of Aryans who settled to the west of the Indus river were known as Asuras. They were always in conflict with Devas and their followers. Subsequently, all enemies of Devas became known as Asuras. This term now represents Daityas, Danavas, and Rakshasas also.

Are Danavas Asuras?

Danu was one of the daughters of Daksha Prajapati. Her children are Danavas. Since they were enemies of Devas or Suras, they were also known as Asuras. Danavas were 34 in number. All Danavas are descendants of these 34. Among them, vamshas of 10 were very powerful and famous. They were: Ekaksha, Mritapa, Pralamba, Naraka, Vatapi, Shatrutapana, Shatha, Gavishta, Vanayu, and Deerghajihwa.


Video - How Asuras, Yakshas, and Rakshasas Are Unique Beings 


How Asuras, Yakshas, and Rakshasas Are Unique Beings


Copyright © 2023 | Vedadhara | All Rights Reserved. | Designed & Developed by Claps and Whistles
| | | | |
Vedahdara - Personalize