Adityas generally considered as 12 in number are sons of Aditi and Kashyapa Prajapati.

In the Vedic corpus, Aditi is equated to Moola Prakriti, the primordial nature from which the whole universe evolved.

Being her sons, the Adityas stand for the primordial forces of nature.

As their father, the role of Kashyapa was to bring the Adityas into existence out of Aditi.

What do the Adityas stand for?

  1. Indra - administrative power, courage, and valor.
  2. Dhata - creative power.
  3. Parjanya - water distribution through evaporation of sea water and rains.
  4. Pusha - the nourisher, makes food through photosynthesis.
  5. Tvashta - controls hereditary characteristics.
  6. Aryama - Causes evolution and development, governs honor and nobility.
  7. Bhaga - confers prosperity and abundance, governs inheritance.
  8. Vivasvan - energy in fire, governs dharma and morality.
  9. Amshu - energy in the moonlight, connected to reproduction and growth of plants, he ensures the share of Devas in yajnas.
  10. Vishnu - maintenance of order.
  11. Varuna - energy in water, governs divine order, punisher of the evil.
  12. Mitra - Emotions of compassion and friendliness, governs all interpersonal relationships.

There are different versions about the number and names of Adityas across Vedas, Puranas, and other scriptures.

They should be looked upon as complementing each other.

In some cases, several functions are kept together under one name.

In some cases, synonyms have been used.




Guruji, your teachings are valuable for everyone.🌺 -Aiswarya Kerkar

Every morning I wake up expecting something really good on Vedadhara group. Never disappointed. Joining this group s a blesssing.🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏 -Srivatsan

Thanks for for sharing your profound knowledge🙏 -Biswas Dasmohpatra

The simplicity and corectness of Vedadhara's scriptural teachings is praiseworthy 🌸 -Mamata Krishnan

Always exploring the depths of profound knowledge. Swamiji's insights are greatly appreciated. -RK Shastry

Read more comments

Vedic Nugget

As rivers, flowing down, become indistinguishable on reaching the sea, so also, merging in the Supreme, all beings lose their individuality. This is the highest state of Man. - Mundakopanishad

Adhik Maas 2023

Shravan Adhik Maas - 18, July to 16 August, 2023.


To obtain siddhi in any moola mantra, how many times it should be chanted ( as a general rule ) ?
English Topics

English Topics

Rare Topics

Click on any topic to open

Copyright © 2024 | Vedadhara | All Rights Reserved. | Designed & Developed by Claps and Whistles
| | | | |