Rohini Nakshatra


The nakshatra which spreads from 10 degrees to 23 degrees 20 minutes of Vrishabha Rashi is called Rohini (रोहिणी). This is the fourth nakshatra in Vedic Astronomy. In Modern Astronomy, Rohini corresponds to Aldebaran. 


Traits of those born in Rohini Nakshatra are:

  • Steady mind
  • Handsome / pretty
  • Dignified behavior
  • Sweet talking
  • Short-tempered
  • Rightful and just
  • Skillful at work
  • Good relation with mother
  • Kind
  • Helpful
  • Soft nature
  • Nature lover
  • Sympathetic
  • Interest in arts and literature
  • Poetic
  • Grateful
  • Women have motherly and feminine qualities  


ॐ ब्रह्मणे नमः

om brahmane namah'


Click below to listen to Rohini Nakshatra Mantra 


Rohini Nakshatra Mantra 108 Times | Rohini Nakshatra Devta Mantra | Rohini Nakshatra Vedic Mantra


Unfavorable Nakshtras

  • Ardra
  • Pushya
  • Magha
  • Mula
  • Purvashada
  • Uttarashada 1st pada

Those born in Rohini Nakshatra should avoid important events on these days and also avoid partnerships with those belonging to these Nakshatras. 

Health issues

Those born in Rohini Nakshatra are prone to these health issues:

  • Fever
  • Cold
  • Cough
  • Flu
  • Swelling in the throat
  • Thyroid problems
  • Headache
  • Pain in the legs
  • Chest pain
  • Irregular menstrual cycle
  • Inflammations and swellings
  • Stomachache 

Suitable career

They will maintain good relationships at work. Will be known for disciplined work habits. Some of the suitable careers for those born in Rohini Nakshatra are:

  • Hotel
  • Housing and construction
  • Fruits
  • Milk
  • Oils
  • Fuels
  • Glass
  • Plastics
  • Soap
  • Perfumes
  • Cosmetics
  • Water transport
  • Navy
  • Medicine
  • Irrigation related
  • Farming
  • Animal rearing
  • Real Estate
  • Astrology
  • Priest
  • Law
  • Performing arts 

Can Rohini Nakshatra wear diamond?

Diamond is favorable. 

Lucky stone


Favorable colors

White, sandal  

Names for Rohini Nakshatra

The starting letter of the name as per Avakahadadi system for Rohini Nakshatra is:

  • First pada/charana - ओ (O)
  • Second pada/charana - वा (Va)
  • Third pada/charana - वी (Vi)
  • Fourth pada/charana - वू (Vu)

These letters can be used for the traditional Nakshatra name kept at the time of the naming ceremony.

In some communities, the names of the grandparents are kept during the naming ceremony. There is no harm in following that system.

Shastra prescribes that the official name kept for records and all practical purposes should be different from this. It is called Vyavaharika nama. The Nakshatra name as per the above system should be known only to close family members.

Letters that you should avoid in the official name for those born in Rohini Nakshatra are - क, ख, ग, घ, ट, ठ, ड, ढ, अ, आ, इ, ई, श (Ka, Kha, Ga, Gha, T'a, T'ha, D'a, D'ha, A, Aa, I, Ee, Sha) 


Those born in Rohini Nakshatra are gentle, caring, and soft-spoken. Being sympathetic and aware of the needs of the spouse, they make excellent life partners. 


Periods of Rahu, Sani, and Ketu are generally unfavorable for those born in Rohini Nakshatra. They may perform the following remedies.

Rohini Nakshatra

  • Lord - Prajapati
  • Ruling planet - Chandra
  • Animal - Snake
  • Tree - Jamun tree (Syzygium cumini)
  • Bird - Shikra (Accipiter badius)
  • Bhuta - Prithvi
  • Gana - Manushya
  • Yoni - Snake (Female)
  • Nadi - Antya
  • Symbol - Cart


Rohini Nakshatra Symbol

Recommended for you

Meaning of Sri Venkatesha Suprabhatam

Ramaswamy Sastry and Vighnesh Ghanapaathi

Copyright © 2022 | Vedadhara | All Rights Reserved. | Designed & Developed by Claps and Whistles
| | | | |
Vedahdara - Personalize