Shiva Linga


Ajagava is the name of the bow of Lord Shiva.

He wears it on his left shoulder.

On his right shoulder is a quiver with five arrows.

It is called Ajagava because it is made from one horn each of a goat and a bull.

Aja means goat and Gau means bull in Sanskrit.

At the time of the birth of King Prithu, Ajagava and the Lord’s arrows dropped from the sky as a gift for him to reestablish dharma on earth.





Why did Vibhishana defect from Ravana to join Rama in the Ramayana?

Vibhishana's opposition to Ravana's actions, particularly the kidnapping of Sita, and his commitment to dharma led him to defect and ally with Rama in the pursuit of righteousness. His defection is an act of moral courage, showing that sometimes it is necessary to take a stand against wrongdoing, regardless of personal cost. This can encourage you to make tough decisions when confronted with ethical dilemmas in your own life.

Agnishvatta (अग्निष्वात्ताः)

There are seven kinds of Pitrus - Agnishvatta, Vairaja, Garhapatya, Somapa, Ekashringa, Chaturveda, and Kala. Someone who performs all the rituals mentioned in the Smritis such as aupasana, sthaleepka but does not perform the Shrauta Yajnas would attain the Loka of Agnishvatta Pitrus.


Who is the performer ( karta ) in a Vedic marriage ?
Copyright © 2024 | Vedadhara | All Rights Reserved. | Designed & Developed by Claps and Whistles
| | | | |