The Yuga-cycle


What is yuga?

In Hindu cosmology, the longevity of the universe is 4.32 billion years. 

This is divided into 1,000 yuga cycles or Chaturyugas. 

Each yuga cycle is made up of four yugas: Satya-yuga, Treta-yuga, Dwapara-yuga, Kali-yuga. 

Satya-yuga 17,28,000 years long, Treta-yuga is 12,96,000 years long, Dwapara-yuga is 8,64,000 years long and Kali-yuga is 4,32,000 years long.

Which yuga are we in?

We are now (2022 A.D.) in Kaliyuga.

How long does a yuga last?

  • Satya yuga - 17,28,000 years. 
  • Treta yuga - 12,96,000 years. 
  • Dwapara yuga - 8,64,000 years. 
  • Kali yuga - 4,32,000 years.

Which is the next yuga?

The next yuga will be Satya yuga.

Which is the best yuga?

The best among the four yugas is Satya yuga also known as Krita yuga.

How yuga is calculated

Each yuga cycle comprising of Satya-Treta-Dwapara-Kali yugas has a total duration of 43,20,000 years.  

The total duration of each yuga is: Satya yuga - 17,28,000 years. Treta yuga - 12,96,000 years. Dwapara yuga - 8,64,000 years. Kali yuga - 4,32,000 years. 

Each yuga has a dawning period called Yuga-sandhya and a dusk period called Yuga-sandhyamsha. 

Based on this, each yuga is divided as follows: 

  • Satya-yuga-sandhya and sandhyamsha- 1,44,000 years each. 
  • Satya-yuga-14,40,000 years. 
  • Treta-yuga-sandhya and sandhyamsha- 1,08,000 years each. 
  • Treta yuga - 10,80,000 years. 
  • Dvapara-yuga-sandhya and sandhyamsha - 72,000 years each. 
  • Dvapara-yuga- 7,20,000 years. 
  • Kali-yuga-sandhya and sandhyamsha- 36,000 years each. 
  • Kali-yuga- 3,60,000 years.

What yuga was Mahabharata?

The major events in Mahabharata including the battle of Kurukshetra took place towards the end of Dwapara yuga.

What yuga was Ravana from?

Treta yuga.

When Kali yuga ends

The current Kali yuga (28th) will end in the year 4,28,899 CE.

When Satya yuga started

The Satya yuga of the current Yuga  cycle ( Chatruryuga ) started in the year 38,91,102 BCE.

When Satya yuga will start

The next Satya yuga will start in the year 4,28,899 CE.

When Treta yuga ended

The Treta yuga of the current yuga cycle ended in the year 8,67,102 BCE.

In which yuga was the wings of the mountains were cut?

Mountains had wings in Satya (Krita) yuga. 

They flew around freely and whenever they landed on earth crushed plants, trees, and living beings under them.

Everyone lived in fear. 

Then Indra cut the wings of all the mountains except Mainaka.

Is Kali yuga going to end in 2025?


According to Hindu scriptures, Kali yuga will end in the year 4,28,899 CE.

Will Satya yuga start again?

The total life of the universe from creation to dissolution is 4.32 billion years. 

This comprises of 14 Manvantaras. 

Each Manvantara is made of 71 Chaturyuga cycles. 

Six Manvantaras are over now. 

We are now in the 28th yuga cycle in the 7th Manvantara. 

That means only 453 yuga cycles are over from the time of creation and the present one is the 454th. 

There will be 546 more Satya yugas till the elimination of the present universe.

Which yuga will start after Kali yuga?

Satya (Krita) yuga.




Outstanding! 🌟🏆👏 -User_se91rp

Thanks preserving and sharing our rich heritage! 👏🏽🌺 -Saurav Garg

Full of spiritual insights, 1000s of thme -Lakshya

Exceptional! 🎖️🌟👏 -User_se91t8

😊😊😊 -Abhijeet Pawaskar

Read more comments

Which yuga did Ramayana happen?

Ramayana happened in the 24th Treta yuga. We are presently in the 28th Kali yuga.

Which yuga was Krishna born?

Krishna was born in the 28th Dwapara yuga.


Where does Hanumanji live in Kaliyuga ?
Copyright © 2024 | Vedadhara | All Rights Reserved. | Designed & Developed by Claps and Whistles
| | | | |