Five important avataras of Lord Shiva

Ramaswamy Sastry

A day of Brahma is called Kalpa, which is equal to 432 crores of human years. We are now into the 51st Kalpa called Shvetavarahakalpa. These Avataras of Lord Shiva were in the previous Kalpas as follows:

  • Sadyojaata : In Shveta Lohita kalpa Lord Shiva took  avatara as Sadyojaata from the body of Brahma.
  • Vamadeva : In the  kalpa  called Rakta, Lord Shiva took avatara as Vamadeva and he was red in colour.
  • Tatpurusha : This avatara was in the kalpa called Peetavaasa  He wears yellow clothes in this avatara.
  • Aghora : In the  kalpa called Shiva, the avatara of Aghora, black in color took place.
  • Ishana : This avatara was in the Vishvaroopa Kalpa.

The five important mantras of Lord Shiva are based on these avataras.

Sadyojaatam prapadyami...., Vamadevaya namo......, Tatpurushaya vidmahe....., Aghorebhyo...., Ishanassarvavidyaanaam....

Share on:

Check out


Modify Search

Select Category
Select Language
Select Subject | Deity
Select Author | Artist

Modify Search

Select By Name / Title

Bank & Branch: Induslnd Bank, Ghodbunder Road, Thane Branch
Account No.: 100054758082 IFSC code: INDB0000357

Click here for payment gateway

Copyright © 2018 Vedadhara. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Powered by Claps and Whistles